Skip to main content

Administrative-territorial and territorial division of the Republic of Bulgaria as of 31 December 2022

Published at: 05.05.2023 - 11:00

As of 31 December 2022, the territory of the Republic of Bulgaria is administratively divided into 28 administrative districts and 265 municipalities, within which there are 3 159 individual mayoralties. Total number of settlements were 5 256, of which 257 towns and 4 999 villages, while the settlement formations were 165 (including 8 of national and 157 of local importance). The largest municipalities with population above 100 000 inhabitants were eight - Stolichna, Plovdiv, Varna, Burgas, Stara Zagora, Ruse, Sliven, Pleven and Pazardzhik. The share of the population in these eight municipalities represents 40.7% of the total country’s population.

Statistical domain